Comprehensive Guide to ISTA 6 Amazon Test Requirements

Comprehensive Guide to ISTA 6 Amazon Test Requirements: Comprehensive Guide To ISTA 6 Amazon Test Requirements

ISTA Testing

Amazon requires online sellers to meet specific criteria to guarantee the safety of their shipments. Amazon has a series of tests known as Amazon ISTA tests that check if the seller complies with all the requirements when shipping packages. The goal of these tests is to optimize the delivery of goods and ensure they are free from damage.
Amazon package testing consists of testing protocols to find out if the package can survive all the stages of the supply chain. The contracts are developed by the International Safe Transit Association (ISTA). ISTA is an international body that focuses on designing protocols to be observed in the supply chain.
To achieve its objective, ISTA has many types of tests that each company can apply depending on how suitable the protocols are in checking their products and the supply chain. Although these protocols feature different series, here are some of the most important ones:
  • ISTA 1 Series: This includes the simplest tests applied to the packaging without simulation of the environmental issues.
  • ISTA 2 Series: Under this series, the performance of the packaging under random vibrations with regards to the choice of transport or certain atmospheric conditions are tested.
  • ISTA 3 Series: This is consisting of advance test elements done by simulating different conditions and types of transport.
  • ISTA 6 Series: This is the ISTA member performance test. It includes the Amazon ISTA test and other companies as well.
  • ISTA 7 Series: It tests the package’s conditioning to withstand varied humidity and temperature.

ISTA 6 Amazon Testing

ISTA 6 AMAZON PACKAGE TESTINGIn a bid to steer the industry towards a cost-effective, protective, low-waste, and easy to pen packaging, Amazon came up with the special Programs that will generally allow them to improve efficiency and reduce waste. So, for your goods to qualify for this program, they need certification from:
  • ● Tier 1 (Frustration-Free Packaging)
  • ● Tier 2 (Ships-In-Own-Container)
  • ● Tier 3 (Prep-Free Packaging)
Furthermore, the products will need to meet all the protocols stated by the Packaging Certification Guidelines, qualify for ISTA 6 Testing (Amazon Overbox Test) (Tier 3), or ISTA 6 Amazon SIOC test (Tier 1 or 2) with trials done using appropriate ISTA certified systems.
  • – Amazon SIOC: Ships in Own Container (SIOC) for Distribution System Shipment
  • – Over Boxing: e-Commerce Fulfillment for Parcel Delivery Shipment

Popular posts from this blog

Top 10 third party inspection companies in China

What is a Quality Control Inspection Checklist? How to Prepare a QC Checklist

Importance of LFGB Certification & Ways to Gain This Certification

Sanitary Ware Product Inspection | Quality Inspection Checklist

TOP 10 Third Party Inspection Companies in Amazon FBA Inspection